Job Applications

I finally got a new job!  I’m so relieved…  I’ve wanted to quit for the longest time and now I can.  My former company is really getting worse all the time.  Anyways, now that I have a new job, I can discuss how I feel about job applications without it coming off as sour grapes.

What applying for jobs most resembles to me is sitting at a slot machine, and putting in pieces of your time, energy, and soul, pulling the arm, and waiting for random chance to reward you.  Whenever I have a job interview, I feel I have no agency, no control over the final outcome.  Obviously I can give a good or a bad interview, but there’s no feedback afterwards to no what I did wrong, no grade to inform me on what I ought to work.  I feel no difference between interviews that end in failures and those that end in new jobs.  I feel I do equally as well in all of them, and then a week or so later, I learn what the result is.  It truly is draining…

Although impractical, I truly would appreciate a detailed report after interviews, to inform me how I did, with grades for things such as compatibility, skills, cover letter composition, &c.  Whenever I’ve asked for feedback after an unsuccessful interview, I’m only told that they found someone better suited, which doesn’t much help me, as I’m left wondering where I’m less suited.

Ah well.  With any luck, it won’t come up again for a long time.  Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

