Spider Goblin

I came across the below statue by Forest Rogers the other day, and absolutely had to share it.  There are sculpted breasts visible, so if you’re currently somewhere where you’d feel awkward to be seen looking at such things, save this page for later.  Also, if you’re arachnophobic, probably avoid it altogether.

Spider GoddessIsn’t it just breath-taking?  It puts me in the mind of an ancient goddess.  I love the seamless blend of human and animal.  I adore the tiny, almost inconsequential, added details, like the mouse at the base.  It reminds me a bit of some of Gustave Dore’s work.  I admit, I’m a fan of spiders to begin with, so I’m probably biased, but I would absolutely get a copy of this if I could.  If I ever write a story with gods, I’m definitely coming back to Rogers’s work for inspiration.  What do you think of it?

 

This entry was posted in Interesting Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

