The Story of the Chinese Farmer

I came across this video today and just loved it.

The story comes from Zen or Taoism (I can’t find a clear origin in my search), but regardless, I like the content.  It seems almost stoic to me.  Whether things prove to be good or bad cannot be determined immediately, so why worry so much?  Time will reveal the true significance of events.  One can prepare and predict, but the future cannot be known until it arrives.  It’s best to simply face events calmly and wait for the future to unfold.

This entry was posted in Interesting Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Story of the Chinese Farmer

  1. This reminded me of the advice my mother always gives me. “No matter what happens you can only live your life one day at a time.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Eble | John Kutensky

  3. charles says:

    Great story! Simple, powerful, and memorable.
    I had a friend who would say, “Don’t borrow trouble.”
    And, a couple of good bits in the Bible, “Do not worry about tomorrow for today has enough trouble of its own.” “Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his span of life?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

