Ask Me Anything

I like being able to communicate with readers, so here’s a page for people to ask questions, and I’ll answer them to the best of my ability.  Feel free to ask me whatever’s on your mind.  Just comment and I’ll reply!

I’ll start things off with a little about myself.  I love to read, write, and cook.  The book that really got me into everything was this old Goosebumps book I got from a book fair at elementary school.  That just ignited a fire in me and it’s been burning strong ever since.  As for writing, I mostly only wrote school and academic papers for most of my life.  I did have a brief flirtation with fiction in middle school, but after that, I mostly put it down until recently.

On more personal details, my favorite genres of music are classical and jazz, although my tastes are pretty eclectic overall, and there’s no genre I completely dislike.  I love spicy food, especially Thai.  The only hot drink I really like is hot chocolate.  I can’t stand coffee and I dislike tea.

I love history.  I studied it a lot in school and I still love reading about it.  Whenever I can work in a little reference in a story, I will.  Ancient Greece and Rome and early modern Prussia are my favorite subjects, but every country has fascinating aspects of its history.  If you’re interesting in history, but can’t find any books you like, I recommend Larry Gonick’s Cartoon History of the Universe.  It’s educational, hilarious, and easy to read.

So, what else do you want to know?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ask Me Anything

  1. Ripberger says:

    Who is your favorite Roman Emperor? I’ll have to look for Gonick’s books. I love history, too (having been a History major).

    Like

    • johnkutensky says:

      Hm, to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Roman emperors. My favorites from ancient history tend to be earlier. I guess if we count Julius Caesar, he’s my favorite by far. Otherwise, though, I’d go with Augustus. It’s so rare and refreshing to find a great historical figure who’s interested in management rather than conquest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

