The Children’s Plutarch

This morning, I was thinking about Plutarch, as we all frequently do, and I wondered why I’ve never seen a version of Plutarch’s lives for children.  After all, I think a lot of readers of Plutarch would say that the benefit of reading his work isn’t only in the historical facts, but in the moral instructions.  Yet most editions are intended for young adults or older, and while moral instruction certainly isn’t pointless at that age, I think it’s much better and more effective at a younger age, if possible.

Wouldn’t it therefore be best to provide examples of classical morality to younger readers, then?  The stoicism of Cato, the tempered fury of Coriolanus, the wisdom of Numa and Lycurgus, wouldn’t these all be fine examples for youths?

Anyways, after some searching online, I found out that there actually is a children’s version, although it’s certainly incomplete and rather old, but it’s something.  You can find it here, if you’re interested.  It only focuses on the Roman lives, as well, which is disappointing for me, as Lycurgus is my personal favorite out of all of those about whom Plutarch wrote.  I wonder whether it’d be worthwhile to adapt some of the other lives, as well.  I might try adapting one of the Greek lives if I get the chance, Agesilaus or Lycurgus, probably.  If I do, I’ll be sure to share it.

This entry was posted in History, Interesting Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

