Anju

Anju from Legend of Zelda Majora's MaskI’ve recently got back into Majora’s Mask.  I bought it on Virtual Console a while ago, went through the first three day cycle, and then forgot about it all semester as I focused on my classes.  But with the news of MM being re-released on the 3DS and the end of classes, I thought it was time to get back into it, and now I’m ready to take on Snowfall Temple.

My first big video game crush that I really remember well was from Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask.  In case you don’t recognize the image, the woman was Anju.  In the game, she runs an inn, and the quest that revolves around her requires you to reunite her with her lost fiance, Kafei.  She’s an extremely sweet young woman, and, what I think really did it for me, she’s a bit of a bird with a downed wing.  She’s obviously capable.  She does run an inn, after all, but she still has a few flaws and fears that are just so endearingly adorable that you want to give her a long hug.  She’s overly apologetic.  She’s not a very good cook.  She worries that her friend is more attractive than she is.  But she’s also loyal, devoted, hard-working, kind, and, even when the moon is bearing down upon the city, she’s willing to stay with Kafei, and greet the new day together.  Maybe I’m a romantic, but qualities like that are the ones that really appeal to me.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

