Dave Goelz on Personalities

I was just reading an interview on Salon.com with Dave Goelz, the puppeteer for Gonzo, from The Muppets, and it had a nice comment from the puppeteer.

What skills does Gonzo draw on in you that are different from your other characters like Bunsen Honeydew, Zoot or Boober Fraggle?

The skills are the same but he comes from a different part of my personality.

I usually base my characters on flaws. I’ve got plenty of my own to draw from. I take an aspect of my personality, isolate and amplify it, and try to make it loveable. Gonzo is crazy but free. For Bunsen, it’s his lack of perspective. Zoot can’t communicate with others, but is in touch with his own muse. Boober Fraggle is fear-based, which is why he loves laundry. It’s clean, nicely folded and for the moment, he is safe.

I hadn’t heard of this method before, and I think it sounds pretty intriguing.  I might have to give it a try next time I’m developing characters.  I certainly have enough flaws to populate an entire fantasy series…  I’ve always been a fan of The Muppets, so it’s neat to see some of the behind-the-scenes stuff.  If you want to read the full interview, you can find it here.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dave Goelz on Personalities

  1. Very Bangled says:

    We just watched the latest Muppets movie. So so funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eurobrat says:

    Based on flaws–that might explain why I love the Muppet characters so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

