Getting Back Into Chess

Every so often, I resolve to get back into chess, and that desire usually fades after a while, but still, I might as well keep trying, right?  Last time I lost interest, there were external environmental factors at play, so maybe this time I’ll be better at it.

I have three main goals.  Firstly, I want to get better at chess.  I used to be pretty good when I was a kid and when I was in college, when I was playing against others pretty frequently.  I regret letting myself get so out of practice.

Secondly, I want to focus more when I play.  A lot of times I let myself get distracted and make blunders because of it.  When I make my moves, I need to take my time, think about options and consequences, and choose the best move to make.

And thirdly, I want to get more “into” chess.  It’s such a great game, and I want to teach my kids chess some day.  I have some gorgeous chess sets, too.  It’d be a shame not to use them well.

Wish me luck!  And if anyone wants to play me, you can find me here!

This entry was posted in Chess, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Back Into Chess

  1. Jon says:

    I used to be pretty good (~2000 Elo), but haven’t played in 12 years. I study chess quite often and do tactics training, but the longer I go without playing, the more nervous I get about getting back into club or tournament play again. I’m sure if I started playing again, anxiety would evaporate, but just taking that one step is proving difficult.

    Like

Leave a Reply

