My New Chess Set from China

I finally got around to unboxing my new chess pieces!  I was waiting to settle down in my new place before getting them all set up, since I don’t have the room to have it set up in my current apartment, but I was really curious how they all looked, so I succumbed to temptation and brought them out.  First thing I noticed was how large they are.  I thought the pawn was a bishop at first, and the bishop was a king, but after two more pawns, it became clearer what was what.

I really love the details.  I’ve always preferred humanoid chess pieces to abstract ones.  Thanks a lot, Islam.  The bases are pretty interesting, and I feel like the limited color palette gives it an antique feel.  I think it’s meant to represent Qing dynasty China, but I can’t be 100% sure.  It’s definitely Western inspired, though.  No chariot or cannons, like you’d get in Xiangqi.  I think it looks gorgeous, though, and I can’t wait to start playing with it!

Edit: Finally moving into a house, so I have enough room for the chess set.  I took a photo of all the pieces in their little chess piece beds.  I’ll have to take another photo while playing a game first chance I get.

Pawn

Pawn

Knight

Knight

Bishop

Bishop

Rook

Rook

Queen

Queen

King

King

All Pieces

All Pieces

All Pieces Sorted

All Pieces Sorted

This entry was posted in Chess and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New Chess Set from China

  1. I have always loved how many different types of chess sets there are. My grandfather used to have this amazing collection and it was always a treat if he let you play with it. He passed away a few weeks ago so I am thinking about continuing his collection. I think that fantastic and themed chess sets are the best kind. I remember his medieval version made me want to be a knight. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

