Let’s Play Star Wars: Empire at War – Part 1

I recently got Star Wars: Empire at War on sale, so I decided I’d try my hand at a Let’s Play of it.

sweaw 2015-05-04 21-46-25-51Star Wars: Empire at War is a real-time strategy game

I chose to play as the Empire.  In my opinion, when an Imperial Star Destroyer is around, the best place to be is on the bridge, shooting rebel scum out of the skies.

sweaw 2015-05-04 21-52-33-07You start off on Thyferra, where Lord Vader is tasked with destroying the Rebel base.  Vader is extremely powerful, which makes using him so satisfying.  There’s nothing more fun than waltzing into a morass of Rebel soldiers and casually tossing their lifeless bodies to the ground.  This mission is basically a tutorial in ground combat, which isn’t really the best part of this game.  It can be fun, but more often than not, it’s a slog that a lot of people auto-resolve.  I’ll be playing through all my invasions this time around, so we’ll see how that goes.  

The attack goes smoothly, and our forces are victorious with minimal loss and effort.  This rebellion will soon be purged from the galaxy!

sweaw 2015-05-04 21-56-26-91 sweaw 2015-05-04 22-00-40-61

After our victory at Thyferra, we invade Fondor, which the Rebels have recently seized.  No matter: the might of the Empire lays not in any one planet, but in the entire galaxy.  Vader will soon return Fondor to the Empire.  Their ground forces are mostly infantry, with a few vehicles, so I prepare a force of stormtroopers for the assault, backed up with AT-STs and TIE Maulers.

The enemy forces at this technological stage consist of basic infantry, rocket infantry, aka, those bastards, and T2-B tanks.  The first isn’t really a danger to anyone, but plex missile troopers can wreck my vehicles given half a chance.  They’re usually my first target.  The T2-B tanks can be dangerous to unprotected infantry, but if Vader or some AT-STs are around, they’re easy to counter.

sweaw 2015-05-04 22-02-27-93The Rebels have apparently been advertising goddamn everywhere, because they have a huge number of forces on the ground.  By the time my stormtroopers have climbed over the mountain of rebel corpses to reach the fighting, they’re so exhausted that I start losing entire units.

sweaw 2015-05-04 22-09-37-89

In the end, though, the Empire is again victorious, although at a much heavier loss.  I lost a lot of stormtroopers and some AT-STs.  I need to make much more liberal use of my bombing runs, and I think I need to utilize TIE Maulers more.  They did a pretty good job of obliterating basic infantry, although they’re fairly weak, so if any plex missile troopers show up, they’ll probably just explode spectacularly, providing a morale-boosting fireworks show.sweaw 2015-05-04 22-19-01-92

After this, we track a traitor to Ilum, where a probe droid reveals a pirate base.  Fortunately, Boba Fett appears to have an irrational hatred of pirates, so we hire him to help us take out their defenses in our next part, where we also get our first taste of space combat, aka the awesome part of the game.

sweaw 2015-05-04 22-20-58-87

 


Read Part 2 here!

This entry was posted in Let's Play and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s Play Star Wars: Empire at War – Part 1

  1. Ripberger says:

    I have the hardest time as the Rebel Alliance, even on easy! I can mop up the galaxy with the Empire, though.

    Like

    • johnkutensky says:

      I’ve never been able to get the hang of the Rebels, either. I think I’m just more inclined towards capital ships and AT-ATs than I am towards mobs of fighters and rocket troopers. I think in general, I tend towards a smaller, more individually powerful force than a large force of weak units. That’s probably why I enjoy XCOM so much…

      I got the Gold Pack, so I can try out the Zann Consortium faction, too. Maybe that’ll be a better fit than the Rebellion.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Let’s Play Star Wars: Empire at War – Part 2 | John Kutensky

Leave a Reply

