1500 and Chess Update

Well, it’s been about two months since I first began my project of getting back into chess, and so far, things are going well.  My score has increased by about 400, form 1101 to 1502.  Out of the 23 standard games I’ve completed, I’ve lost 4, drawn 2, and won 17, which is a pretty nice record, I think.

Mertvaya Ruka Chess

 

As white, I won 10/12 games, drew 1, and lost 1, for an average score of 0.875.  As black, I won 7/11 games, drew 1, and lost 3, for an average score of 0.681, which is understandable.  Black generally does worse, but perhaps it’s something for me to focus on.  It doesn’t help that I don’t know black openings nearly so well.  I have discovered, though, that I do much better playing the Sicilian, c5, than I do opening with e5 when my opponent plays e4, so I should probably start studying the Sicilian more.

On average, my games take about 35 moves, with a minimum of 13 and a maximum of 74.  On average, my opponent is, after the game ends and our scores are adjusted, about 19 points higher than me.  Before the score adjustment, they’re 36 points higher than me, on average.  In games where I lost, the before average is 150 points higher than me, and in games I won, the before game difference was almost 17 points.  Most of the games where I was significantly better than my opponent were when I was just starting out.  Since then, I’ve been trying to do my best to play opponents with a higher ranking than me.  Just like back in college Chess Club, the best way to learn is by getting crushed over and over and over again.

I definitely need to do more Tactics Training.  I think a lot of times I lack follow-through.  I also need to get a good stable of reliable, solid openings to use, especially as black.  Next, I want to focus on more live games, and get used to thinking more quickly.  I used to play pretty much only live chess, but now that most of my opponents are online, I’ve switched to standard chess, and I want to get better at thinking on my feet.  Maybe I can convince some coworkers to play with me.  Overall, though, I’m really happy with my progress so far.  I hope it continues!

 

 

This entry was posted in Chess and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1500 and Chess Update

  1. Pingback: 1600! | John Kutensky

Leave a Reply

