Favorite Orangutan Photos

As I’ve made obvious manymany times before, orangutans are my favorite creatures.  I have quite a few favorite photos of orangutans, besides my own, so I thought I’d share them with you.  Enjoy!

Orangutan at Berlin Zoo, Germany.

Orangutan at Berlin Zoo, Germany.

This one is probably my absolute favorite.  He just looks like some sort of forest sage, the sort of being you might find in a work of fantasy who guides the main character.

Orangutan from Tanjung Puting National Park

Orangutan from Tanjung Puting National Park

I’m not sure why I like the look of flanged males so much (the orangutans with the big cheekpads), but they’re my favorites over females and sub-adult males.  Maybe the combination of wide, round face and small eyes makes them look wise and more human to me.  Whatever it is, they look as though they’re filled with deep sagacity and wisdom to me.

Orangutan Statue from the Edinburgh Zoo

Orangutan Statue from the Edinburgh Zoo

It’s hard to find orangutan statues!  This is the only large one I’ve found.  It’s a bit inaccurate; adult males take no part in raising their children, and they’d be extremely unlikely to ever pose like a family like this.  But I like the statue nonetheless.

Dasa the Orangutan from the Erie Zoo

Dasa the Orangutan from the Erie Zoo

Joe the Orangutan from the Erie Zoo

Joe the Orangutan from the Erie Zoo

These two photos were taken by a psychology student who put together a collection of photos to show the similarities between humans and other primates, hoping it would help spur conservation efforts.  I think he did an excellent job.  These photos really make their subjects look nearly human.  You can almost feel the soul behind the ape.

Orangutan 2

Bornean Orangutan, by Frans Lanting

This orangutan looks a little more more mirthful, perhaps almost mischievous.  Almost a Gandalf-type of figure.  I suppose I’m reading more into an ape’s face than I should…

Orangutan and Baby 5 Orangutan and Baby 4 Orangutan and Baby 3 Orangutan and Baby 2 Orangutan and Baby

I couldn’t find a source for these photos of an orangutan mother and her baby, but I just love them.  Orangutan mothers spend years and years alone with your children, forming a deep and lifelong bond.  Orangutans have some of the longest childhoods on the planet, beat only by us humans.

14840761921_e73349cdd8_b

I really like this image of a flanged male from the Brookfield Zoo.  Like most of my favorites, I think he looks especially soulful.  You can truly see our shared heritage in these beings.

Pensive Orangutan

I can’t find a good source for this last one, but I like his pensive appearance.

Which is your favorite?

This entry was posted in Orangutans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Favorite Orangutan Photos

  1. christinadrh says:

    Fantastic pics! I find the one with the hands very expressive. Love Joe & Dasa too. All are wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

