Sherlock Holmes: Examining the Evidence

I always find the counting of stuff in works of fiction to be oddly interesting, things like how many drinks James Bond drinks or how many Superman references are made in Seinfeld.  A while back I actually went through a game I liked and tracked every item of food or drink in order to try to determine what sort of dishes each character would like, but that project didn’t go wicked far.

Anyways, I came across one for the Sherlock Holmes stories, and I found it pretty interesting.  It’s weird to see how often dogs are clues, for instance.  Cigarette ash I sort of expected, just because I know Sherlock wrote about it, even though the idea is also a bit foreign to me.  It’s also strange to see how rarely Sherlock delivers a criminal to the police, in only 33% of cases.  Still, better than the police would manage in these cases, so I suppose it makes sense why they keep going to him.

I wonder whether there’s anything comparable for the Lupin or Judge Dee stories.  Might be a nice little project to go through and tabulate such things.  It would give me an excuse to go through the entire oeuvres, and it would be interesting to compare them to Sherlock Holmes.  I feel Judge Dee deals with a lot more murderers, for instance, while Lupin sees more theft and financial crimes.  There’s also the fact that Lupin is often both a criminal and a detective, helping to find the original criminal only to steal his theft and leave before anyone can notice.

 

This entry was posted in Interesting Things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

