The Last Message Received

I came across a new Tumblr today that I really enjoy.  The Last Message Received collects the last messages people receive from people, either because their relationship ended or because the person died.  Maybe it’s a bit macabre, but I always enjoy people’s last words, and I think going through this helps me appreciate the people I have in my life a bit more.  You never know when someone will exit your life.  I always try to end my conversations with loved ones by letting them know that I love them.  I don’t want any regrets.

It’s also interesting reading the messages that people end friendships and relationships on.  I’ve certainly had a few of those before.  Sometimes you don’t even realize it until much later.  I wish it were easier to go back and see what some of the last messages I exchanged with friends who just faded away were.

It’d probably be easier to find last messages from people I deliberately decided to stop talking to, but most of them just end up getting deleted.  I don’t really attach enough importance to them to keep them and get rid of them before nostalgia and curiosity makes me wonder what they were.  Maybe I’ll save any future ones I have.  I’d certainly try to hold onto any last messages from the deceased.

Remember to let the people you love know how important they are to you while you have the chance.

This entry was posted in Interesting Things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Last Message Received

  1. Yayo says:

    Thank you for sharing. Riveting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

