Comparing Radio Ads

I’m sure that it’s at least partly because of my own political bias, but I have to admit, I find the difference between the ads of different radio parties to be pretty funny sometimes.  Recently, I’ve discovered a classical radio station that’s just amazing.  Listening to them during my commute is probably adding a couple of months to my life from reduced stress.  Their ads tend to be for piano stores, Mercedes-Benz dealerships, cheese shops, and local restaurants.

Another radio station I listen to regularly is conservative talk radio, which I usually just listen to briefly unless it’s Michael Medved’s Conspiracy Day, which has hilarious callers with the craziest beliefs that I get some sort of cathartic pleasure from hearing.  Their ads are quite different.  One is for the Crazy Gun Dealer, an actual place that really exists.  Others are for things like in-home medical care and a number of companies that exist solely to help people with massive amounts of debt owed to the IRS, which makes me wonder about the possible ulterior motives of these people who are so easily persuaded to vote for candidates that want to abolish the aforementioned IRS.

It would be interesting to see a more formal and systematic study of what sorts of advertisements you get on radio stations and how that correlates to the political distribution of their listeners.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Comparing Radio Ads

  1. +charles says:

    I, too, listen to classical music on my commute often. The one I listen to, though, is member supported so no commercials, which is doubly relaxing – classical music and no ads. I don’t watch much TV or listen to much else on the radio so I miss (thankfully) all the political ads during voting season.
    That study you suggest sounds interesting. I suspect the radio stations already have that data. Whether anyone else has published on it or not is another matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • johnkutensky says:

      Ever since reading an informal study someone did on the advertisements in UFO magazines, I’ve found it interesting. What the person found was that the ads weren’t predominantly about aliens or UFOs or anything like that. Instead, the ads tended to be bunk. Stuff like crystals and pseudoscience, the kind of stuff you’d try to sell to extremely gullible people, rather than people who necessarily believe that extraterrestrials have visited the earth recently, which gave you a pretty good idea of the advertiser’s opinions of the magazine’s readers. You could probably find demographic information for radio stations if you were an advertiser, but it’d probably be harder to create a scale to rate the advertisements. Which metrics would you use? Gullibility of target audience? Presumed age? General nuttiness to believe this product works?

      Anyways, ever since then, I’ve thought of advertisements more as companies’ opinions of the audience than as simply unbiased notifications about products.

      Liked by 1 person

      • +charles says:

        You truly are in the right profession!
        You’ve given me a new way to look at commercials. I think they’ll be a lot more interesting now.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

