Ides of March Morbidity

During the holiday season, I got to thinking about nativities, and what other holidays could possible have that sort of decoration, with all the little statuettes assembled to form a scene.  My favorite pieces of artwork tend to be tangible pieces, like statues, so I really like the art of nativities, but I’m an atheist, so I don’t have any desire to actually own or display one.

The first holiday that came to mind was the Ides of March, with Julius Caesar’s assassination.  I think it’d be neat to have a little miniature senate, with a small statue of Pompey for everything to happen under, and then a collection of statuettes depicting Caesar, Brutus, Cassius, and the other senators involved in the assassination.

Maybe it’s just because I’m both morbid and a history fan, but I’d like it.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

